My Books!

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Lies I Live By


Lies I Live By
by Lauren Sabel

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: YA Thriller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:

These are the basic facts about me:

I am 17.

I live in San Francisco.

I work for a secret governmental agency.

I spend many hours a day out of my mind.

I am a psychic spy.


A Word From The Author:


3 Ways that Love is Important to Writing

Writing is all about loving your main characters – their quirks, their painful and beautiful life histories, their broken moments; and it is also about hating your main characters for their flaws or for the terrible actions they have committed – but it can’t be about apathy. If love or hate isn’t involved when you are interacting with your main characters, it creates a flatness to these people that doesn’t exist in real life.  In the real world, everything we do and say is flush with emotion, which is ideally how fictional characters should be as well.  

Writing is also about loving the act of twisting and turning words to create the scene you want or the emotion you want a reader to feel. Since every book goes through multiple drafts, a writer not only has to be able to imagine each scene, but to want to craft that scene into being over and over, manipulating language differently each time to create the precise feeling you’re looking for in the reader.

For me, writing is a way to love my life.  It allows me to feel difficult emotions and face painful situations on the page, often before I ever have to deal with them in real life. When these situations or emotions come, I am better prepared to deal with them because I have worked through them with a fictional character.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:


Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY (pub May 2016). Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Social Networks:

Website: www.laurensabel.com AND http://liesiliveby.com/
Blog: http://laurensabel.tumblr.com
Twitter: laurensabel
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/author.laurensabel/?ref=hl AND https://www.facebook.com/LIES-I-LIVE-BY-1060641787289541/?skip_nax_wizard=true
Instagram: laurensabel  AND liesiliveby

Book Purchase Links:

LIES I LIVE BY:

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0062231987/ref=cm_sw_su_dp

Nook: http://bit.ly/liesiliveby

http://www.indiebound.org/book/9780062231987

VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD:

 http://www.amazon.com/Vivian-Divine-Dead-Lauren-Sabel/dp/0062231952

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/vivian-divine-is-dead-lauren-sabel/1117005007

Lauren will be awarding $50 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Use the link below to enter.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


19 comments:

Goddess Fish Promotions said...

Thank you for hosting

Mai T. said...

If you had a warning label, what would yours say?

Angela said...

What an unique cover, love it ^_^

Kim said...

The blurb definitely sounds intriguing. Unfortunately, the excerpt didn't add anything to the blurb.

Rita said...

Sounds like a great read.

MomJane said...

What a unique and exciting sounding story.

Becky Richardson said...

Sounds like a great read.

Maro Benipayo said...

Great!

Victoria Alexander said...

I'm looking forward to reading this one! Thanks for sharing :)

Lauren Sabel said...

Thanks for hosting me on your blog today!

Best,
Lauren

Lauren Sabel said...

Answers to the above:

Mai - My warning label would say: Caution. Fragile at Unexpected Times.

Angela - I love the cover too - Josh Cochran did it. You should check out his website He's amazing!

Kim - If you want to read more, check out the prologue and Chapter 1 on the book's website: www.liesiliveby.com.

Thanks for all the interest! I hope you enjoy reading the book as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Lauren

Nikolina said...

I am really enjoying following this tour, thank you!

Joseph Wallace said...

What is the best joke that you heard recently? Thanks for the giveaway. I hope that I win. Bernie W BWallace1980(at)hotmail(d0t)com

Dario Z said...

I really loved the blurb, thank you for sharing!

patrick siu said...

I have enjoyed learning about the book. Thanks for sharing it.

Ally Swanson said...

I enjoyed reading the excerpt and the guest post. This book sounds like such an interesting and intriguing read. Looking forward to checking out this book!

Nikolina said...

How did you come up with the idea for the book?

chansara said...

Thanks for your information, it was really very helpfull.. visit my official site

Anonymous said...

psychic readings by phone